Find out more

IATF 16949:2016

The IATF (International Automotive Task Force) published a new international standard in October 2016; IATF 16949:2016, to replace ISO/TS 16949:2009. This standard defines the requirements for a quality management system for organizations in the automotive industry, including automotive production, service and/or accessory parts organizations. It is aligned with and refers to the most recent version of ISO’s quality management systems standard; ISO 9001:2015.

Key changes to the standard include:

  • The new automotive standard is based on ISO 9001:2015 and incorporates of some of the Original Equipment Manufacturers (OEM) Customer Specific Requirements (CSRs) to reduce the complexity and number of CSRs for suppliers to implement and for CBs to audit
  • Inclusion of requirements for safety-related parts and processes
  • Enhancement of product traceability requirements
  • Inclusion of requirements for products with embedded software
  • Inclusion of a warranty management process addressing no trouble found (NTF) and the use of automotive industry guidance
  • Clarification of sub-tier supplier management and development requirements
  • Addition of corporate responsibility requirements
  • Adoption of Annex SL High Level Structure, the same structure used when developing ISO 9001:2015

ISO/TS 16949 was developed in 1999 by the IATF in conjunction with the ISO quality management technical committee ISO/TC 176. It is now one of the most widely used international standards in the automotive industry, aiming to harmonize the different assessment and certification systems in the global automotive supply chain.

Requirements for certification to IATF 16949:2016 will be defined in the new revision of the IATF document “Rules for achieving and maintaining IATF recognition,” released in November 2016. Guidance for the transition from ISO/TS 16949:2009 to IATF 16949:2016 was released by the IATF on August 10 and can be downloaded here.

All organisations currently certified to ISO/TS 16949:2009 must transition to the new IATF 16949:2016 standard by September 14, 2018, or risk losing their certification.

QUALATIS can assist you through the transition with training auditing and support. 



quick links

  Copyright © 2022 QUALATIS
Your IP Address is: